The Nottinghamshire Intern

March 19, 2013

Hello, I’m Tom and I’m taking over the Dairy’s blog this week and milking it’s teets to tell you why I’m here.

Being a self righteous vegan, I was admittedly slightly apprehensive when Nigel told me I could intern for his company. Nonetheless, being a curious and open minded chap, I decided to bless these omnivores with my skills for a week and see if marketing and design is the kind of environment I’d like to work in.

Currently, I work as area manager for the Nottingham branch of a nationwide company, I AM VIP Limited. Our company provides nightclubs and bars with a free photography service, the idea being that those photos will be uploaded to various social media pages and customers at the bar will tag themselves on the photos. I look after our staff who operate in Nottingham, train new photographers in sales and get new venues on board to our scheme.

I also do a lot of freelance media production varying from wedding photography to producing short films. I’ve done this for the past couple of years and have successfully started to build up a reputation in my field.

I’ve always had an interest in social media and last year had a viral video on Youtube because of my innovation and creativity. I’m a bit of a jack of all trades really, I love playing and teaching guitar, I’ve presented my own radio show, I worked as a teaching assistant for a while and have a passion for films.

My suspicions were right, I’m surrounded by cow crazy marketing and design veterans. Despite our dietary differences, we seem to think in the same way and all have a passion for what we do. I’m enjoying interning here and already I’m working on press releases and design briefs.

So that’s me really in a nutshell, I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of this internship pans out and hopefully this will be a route into Marketing, PR and Advertising if I decide this is the kind of environment I want to be working in.

Leave a Reply

