A new intern on the block

April 30, 2013

Hey,

I’m Rachel and I will be part of the Dairy team for the next few weeks. I approached The Dairy very eagerly 5 months ago looking for a 5 week placement and here I am now! I am currently a second year student at Nottingham Trent University studying the interesting world of fashion marketing and branding. This course enables me to learn about the importance of brand identity, marketing strategies and visual presentation.

Being a student is a whole different ball game these days, not only does it involve meeting a vast amount of new friends, learning the art of cooking and juggling your finance. It seems having a degree isn’t as impressive as it used to be. It is also about the experience you have gained over the years. So I am very fortunate to be given this opportunity with The Dairy!

My previous experiences involve working for Sainsbury’s in their Headquarters situated in Holborn, London where I worked in their marketing department. Then in October 2010, I was fortunate enough to be able to work in Karen Millen’s head office for a weeks work placement in London. During my time with them, I worked with the global marketing department learning about different marketing strategies and how these are implemented on a global scale. I also learnt the importance of social networking and marketing through online channels and from this I started my own blog and twitter. This then gave me the confidence to spend one day a week during my first year of university, working with a new designer based in Nottingham where I put what I had learnt into practice. My role involved writing press releases and sending it out to relevant magazines and newspaper in which I successfully managed to get products featured in Vogue.  

So far, I’ve really enjoyed working with The Dairy team and hope to make a positive contribution to the agency during my time with them.

Rachel 

Image

Leave a Reply

