The Internship

July 31, 2013

Image

Hello,

My name is Siba Munsanje and I am one of the latest interns at the dairy. I study
Marketing, Design and communications at Nottingham Trent University. I enjoy reading
novels and watching films in my spare time. 
I decided to become an intern and gain some experience while I still could. Being a
student nowadays means we have to face the harsh reality that graduating with just a
degree is risky at best.  To get a job you need experience. To get experience, you need a
job. It’s a cruel cycle. 
So you can imagine my delight when I read the email inviting me for an interview at
the dairy. My mum was probably more excited than I was. She was always nagging me to
get a job. She even packed my lunch on the first day, which she hasn’t done since I
was 12! 
That should give you an idea of how excited I was to be an intern. Its only been two
days but I’ve already tackled some interesting tasks. Thankfully, doing the work
wasn’t as intimidating as I had expected. I realized just how university prepared me
for some of the jobs. Work has ranged from carrying out market research on a client
to drawing up marketing costs for another. It is all very exciting. 
 Everyone at the Dairy is friendly and outgoing. The atmosphere in the office is
very relaxed. It’s very easy to settle in and get comfortable. I am looking forward
to my next few weeks here.
Leave a Reply

